Welded shovel, fire poker and hammer.

Winter in Portland, OR has set in full force. It is frigid, wet, and dreary. Honestly, I enjoy it for the most part, it makes it easier to sit in the studio, read, study. It can also cripple your motivation though…Seeing as there is never any sun just overcast…

My apartment has a fireplace which is great! I love fires…they hit so many emotional responses for me. They are warm, smell great, transfixing, nostalgic…They are a great meditation for me. The one problem is my roommate and I have had is we have no means of cleaning it, or moving coals, or poking the logs.

So I busted out my metals skills and made a shovel and a fireplace poker! I made this out of scraps laying around the studio. I ran into a problem. I did not have a mallet or hammer heavy enough to smack it. So, I made one of those too.

image

wp-1451964769882.jpg

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

 

 

image

imageimage

imageimage

2 thoughts on “Welded shovel, fire poker and hammer.

Leave a Reply

