Hail Hydra! or Sand Casting with a 3D print!

So I recently caught up with the rest of the world and watched all the marvel movies. During Captain America my friend was saying how she thought the Hydra logo would make a great pin or pendant. So I instantly took it as a challenge.  I found the Hydra logo online and brought it into Illustrator to vectorize it from Illustrator I brought it into Rhino.

HYDRA_alt_2

hydra
I
 did some basic extrusion methods on it to give it some dimension.  I kept it simple due to the fact I was going to try and sand cast it with an open mold.  I sent it to my printer and then melted down some pewter in an old pot on my stove. It took me a few tries to get it but I really like the final results!

 

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

First failed attempt!

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Success!

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

 

 

Processed with VSCOcam

 

 

3 thoughts on “Hail Hydra! or Sand Casting with a 3D print!

Leave a Reply

