DIY Tumbler.

I have always wanted to build my own tumbler, mainly for the fact that I don’t want to buy one. I was lucky enough to inherit one from Frankie, which caused to me stall out on designing a cheap one.  Until now because I have come to want two of them for tumbling rocks and polishing up metal.

So this is tumbler V 1.0 which has a few faults but I have plans to update this and refine it.  It is made of laser cut acrylic and some basic hardware that I had laying around. This is a great first run though and I now know what I need to add to it to make it run just a bit smoother.

Currently the supplies are:

1/8th in. acrylic
5/16 threaded rod
608 bearings
silicone rubber o-ring
12v DC motor
rubber drum(from my other tumbler)

and it is being powered by a variable power supply. I will soon give it a dedicated power supply but this is good for testing.

wpid-img_20141115_175401.jpg

 

wpid-img_20141115_175409.jpg wpid-img_20141115_175426.jpg wpid-img_20141115_175418.jpg

Leave a Reply

