Biomimicry- Inspiration from nature.

Biomimicry the examination of nature, its models, systems, proceses, and elements to emulate or take inspiration from in order to solve human problems.

This is quite an intriguing concept to consider from a Metalsmithing standpoint. What could I make that would take from nature and use it to my advantage? I started the process by drawing different animals in different ring styles that used their appendages to grasp the finger. After discussing my ideas with my teacher, Frankie Flood, he helped me realize what I was really looking at. Grip.

After considering what I would need grip for in my day to day life I came up with my project, “Vacuum Grip.” I designed it around the idea of help gripping a hammer. After some time and some elbow grease it came into existence!(Higher resolution photos can be viewed at Flikr)


Thanks to Derek Rickert for the photos.

Leave a Reply

